1927 – Lansing Manufacturing Company founded in Los Angeles
1934 – Douglas Shearer of MGM heads team which designs the first practical loudspeaker for motion picture use. Lansing builds components for the Shearer horn system which becomes industry standard.
1936 – Shearer-Lansing system awarded citation by Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences
1937 – Lansing creates the “Iconic” two-way compact design – the first studio monitor
1941 – Lansing Manufacturing Company acquired by Altec Service Company
1943 – Lansing develops the Model 604 Duplex 15” (38cm) co-axial loudspeaker
1944 – Lansing and Hilliard redefine the reference theater speaker with the "Voice of the Theatre"
1946 – Lansing leaves Altec and founds a new company, James B. Lansing Sound Incorporated
1947 – JBL develops D130 15” (38cm) speaker with the first commercial use of 4" (100mm) voice coil
1949 – James B. Lansing dies; William Thomas becomes company president
1953 – Commercialization of Acoustic Lenses developed by Bart Locanthi
1954 – Model 375 compression driver, first 4” (100mm) diaphragm commercially available
1955 – Model 075, the first ultra-high-frequency ring-radiator transducer
1957 – Introduction of JBL Paragon stereo console speaker system
1959 – Leo Fender integrates the Model D130 into his guitar amplifiers
1962 – JBL creates the first 2-way studio monitor to utilize a high-frequency acoustic lens
1968 – JBL launches the Model 4310 three-way bookshelf studio monitor speaker, later the 4311
1969 – Sidney Harman acquires JBL, ushering in a period of accelerated international growth
1969 – L-100 consumer version of the 4311 is launched, which sells over 125,000 pairs in the 1970s
1969 – JBL speaker components deliver the sound at Woodstock and many other rock festivals
1973 – 4300 Series studio monitors launched, including the industry’s first four-way designs
1975 – Model 4682 thermoplastic " Strongbox " Line Array
1979 – Diamond surround technology for control of high-frequency resonances in diaphragms
1979 – Development of the Symmetrical Field Geometry (SFG) magnet structure
1979 – Cabaret® Series portable systems for musicians debuts
1980 – Bi-Radial® Constant-Coverage horns
1981 – The first Bi-Radial® studio monitor, the 4435, for the recording studio
1982 – Titanium is first developed as a material for high-frequency diaphragms
1982 – Model 4675 power-flat cinema system introduced, first system to be approved by THX®
1986 – The first models of Control® Series unveiled
1990 – Vented Gap Cooling technology reduces low-frequency transducer temperature
1991 – The first pro-audio speaker using a neodymium magnet in Array Series
1995 – Birth of the EON molded-enclosure integrated, powered portable loudspeakers
1995 – First neodymium Differential Drive® Dual-voice-coil/Dual-magnetic-gap cone transducers
2000 – Creation of VerTec® Line Array system with RBI – Radiation Boundary Integrator
2000 – ScreenArray® three-way cinema systems with Screen Spreading Compensation
2002 – JBL Engineers receive Scientific and Technical Awards from the Motion Picture Academy
2005 – JBL awarded a Technical Grammy® by National Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences
2006 – VRX Constant-Curvature Line Array introduced
2008 – CBT Series Constant Beamwidth Technology column line arrays developed
2011 – D2 Dual-Diaphragm Compression Driver developed, first used in VTX Line Array
2012 – M2 Studio Monitor with Image Control Waveguide, D2 driver and low-TCR voice-coil woofer


Login or Register to post a comment